Super Cup Tickets

Compare tickets to Super Cup from safe & verified sellers with 100% Guarantees.

Upcoming Super Cup Events and Available Tickets

10 Aug 2022

UEFA Super Cup
| Helsinki Olympic Stadium: Helsinki, Finland

UEFA Super Cup 2022

Super Cup Info

Information and Background

UEFA Super Cup is an annual encounter of UEFA Champions League winner and Europa League winner which is normally staged before the new season begins. It might not be a major trophy and there were times it was not exactly a priority for the Champions League winner but such has changed. It is considered a distinguished title since the teams can not win it unless they won a continental competition in the previous season.

The idea of holding this European Super Cup was proposed by Dutch sport journalist in De Telegraf newspaper, Anton Witkamp, in early 1970s. He was suggesting a match to decide the best team in Europe. The best way would be challenging the champions of the top flight tournament, in this case European Cup/Champions League and the second tier continental competition, which was back then UEFA Cup Winners Cup. The first one in 1972 between Ajax and Glasgow Rangers was, in fact, not acknowledged by UEFA since the Scottish sides were banned in Europe at that time due to their supporters' misconduct in 1972 Winners Cup final. The official UEFA-recognised one was the 1973 edition when Johan Cruyff and Co hammered AC Milan 6-1 in aggregate.

UEFA Super Cup Details

There have been several changes in UEFA Super Cup throughout the history. Originally, the format was a two-legged final with home and away fixtures. Yet, it was modified to a single match in a neutral venue since 1998. Stade Louis II, Monaco was always chosen to contest it till 2012. Since then, the venue changes annually around the continent. There have been nine venues selected all across Europe starting from Eden Arena in Prague (2013), Cardiff City Stadium in Cardiff (2014), Boris Paichadze Dinamo Arena in Tbilisi (2015), Lerkendal in Trondheim (2016), Phillip II Arena in Skopje (2017), A Le Coq Arena in Tallinn (2018), Vodafone Park in Istanbul (2019), Puskas Arena in Budapest (2020) to Windsor Park in Belfast (2021). Two more stadiums have been listed for the next two years, Olympic Stadium in Helsinki (2022) and Ak Bars Arena, Kazan. Moreover, in 2000, following the abolishment of UEFA Cup Winners Cup in the previous year, the Super Cup automatically accommodated the UEFA Cup/Europa League winner to face off Champions League winner instead. This single final has been able to attract approximately within 5-10 millions viewers globally each year.

Barcelona and AC Milan are the current record holders by winning five titles. Their former players, Dani Alves and Paolo Maldini, are also the only players who have lifted the trophy four times. On several occasions, especially before its re-branding in 1995, there were a number of exceptions regarding the match. The 1986 and 1991 editions, for example, were only held in a single game due to the political issue. Meanwhile, the 1984 edition was also contested in a one-off match because of the fixture congestion. Such reason also led the cancellation of 1974 and 1981 editions, whereas the 1985 was not staged due to the five-year ban for all English clubs. Everton, the champions of the European second tier competition and was supposedly meeting Juventus in the Super Cup, was the first victim of this suspension.

Do not miss the opportunity to be the witness of this one-off match in UEFA Super Cup live at the selected venues each year. Log on to for reliable info about the best seats in various stadiums in Europe and the best deals for the tickets of this game.

Historic Moments in the UEFA Super Cup

The historic moments in Super Cup are mainly related to the non favourite’s success in beating the more well-known teams. The first historic moment was in mid 1970s when Dynamo Kiev and Anderlecht stunned Bayern in 1975 and 1976. Oleg Blokhin and Co crushed the Bavarian 4-0 in aggregate while Belgian side led by two Dutch internationals Rob Rensenbrink and Arie Haan trashed them 5-3 in aggregate. Two years later, Anderlecht lifted the trophy again after beating Liverpool 4-3 in aggregate.

Meanwhile, the following decade saw the victory of Aberdeen and KV Mechelen in 1983 and 1988 edition. These less well-known sides managed to beat the UCL winners, Hamburg SV and PSV Eindhoven 2-0 and 3-0 respectively. The next memorable moments took place in 1993 edition when the ‘Dream Team’ back then, AC Milan lost to Parma 1-2 on aggregate. Nestor Sensini and Massimo Crippa bagged the winning goal in Milan. Then, in 1998 and 1999 Chelsea and Lazio won 1-0 over Real Madrid and Manchester United. Gustavo Poyet and Marcelo Salas netted the winning goals in each edition. Another shocking result was in 2000 when Galatasaray thumped Real Madrid 2-1 by Mario Jardel’s brace, one of which was a golden goal. The next iconic moment was in 2008 when Zenit St.Petersburg defeated Manchester United 2-1. Nemanja Vidic only managed to score a consolation goal after two goals down from Pavel Pogrebnyak and Danny.

Last but not least, the goal galore in all Spanish clash in 2015 and 2018 editions as Barcelona and Atletico Madrid defeated Sevilla and Real Madrid respectively. Leo Messi and Co secured a dramatic 5-4 win in the former one while Diego Simeone’s men smashed Los Blancos 4-2 in the latter one.

List of Past SUPER Cup Finals after 2000

  • 2000 Galatasaray vs Real Madrid 2-1 (golden goal)
  • 2001 Liverpool vs Bayern Munich 3-2
  • 2002 Real Madrid vs Feyenoord 3-1
  • 2003 AC Milan vs Porto 1-0
  • 2004 Valencia vs Porto 2-1
  • 2005 Liverpool vs CSKA Moscow 3-1
  • 2006 Sevilla vs Barcelona 3-0
  • 2007 AC Milan vs Sevilla 3-1
  • 2008 Zenit St.Petersburg vs Manchester United 2-1
  • 2009 Barcelona vs Shakhtar Donetsk 1-0
  • 2010 Atletico Madrid vs Inter Milan 2-0
  • 2011 Barcelona vs Porto 2-0
  • 2012 Atletico Madrid vs Chelsea 4-1
  • 2013 Bayern Munich vs Chelsea 2-2 (5-4) penalties
  • 2014 Real Madrid vs Sevilla 2-0
  • 2015 Barcelona vs Sevilla 5-4
  • 2016 Real Madrid vs Sevilla 3-2
  • 2017 Real Madrid vs Manchester United 2-1
  • 2018 Atletico Madrid vs Real Madrid 4-2
  • 2019 Liverpool vs Chelsea 2-2 (5-4) penalties
  • 2020 Bayern Munich vs Sevilla 2-1
  • 2021 Chelsea vs Villareal 1-1 (6-5) penalties

Latest News